The Secret of Dieting on Vacation

I have roughly spent the last 2 weeks out of town and on vacation. The last 10 days was spent in a beautiful house in Mesa, Arizona, with a pool and a lovely view. 



Every day was a treat because there’s not much business to be done while you’re on vacation.  My goal was to stick to roughly 1500 calories (300 extra than what I eat at home) and work out every day. Not my MaxWorkouts because afterall, I WAS on vacation. But there was a pool, some bikes, and unlimited hiking. 

I swam the first day for 20 minutes then Karlin and I went for a bike ride that was absolutely awesome.  We went on a few really cool hikes and saw some beautiful scenery. 











So I’m sure somewhere in there I burned 1 or 2 calories. But what you probably want to know is how I stuck to my diet. So I have written my detailed diet plan below:

I did not. I drank like a raging pirate hooker and ate like 40 chimichangas and tacos and basically shovelled chips, chocolate and anything covered in cheese I could find. 

For real.

I found myself totally incapable of eating a salad when everyone else is pounding burgers and steaks hard. And you know what? I didn’t fucking care.  As soon as I got there I was like WELP SORRY ASS! 

And it was awesome. 10 days of guilt free indulging. Wine and  margaritas and vodka sodas and beer! Delicious beer! All kinds of beer! AMERICAAAAA.

I got home and sheepishly cowarded away from my scale. But I also picked up my wedding dress. I couldn’t NOT try on my fucking wedding dress. So I prepared myself for a sausage fest and stepped into it. It slid on like a silky lace glove and looked like the most expensive thing I’ve ever worn. Because it is. I was so pleased! But still not ready for the scale. 

I pounded some final beers and we  ordered Vietnamese for our last unhealthy meal for a long time. The next morning… I stepped on up to the scale..

153.8…. I was 147 when I left… I was like FUCK RIGHT OFF.  So I miserably looked up what workout was scheduled for the day and wanted to die. I skipped my workout and slept all day.  Today I stepped up again. 150.2!  HEY THATS NOT BAD!  This motivated me enough to work my fucking ass off today and I sweat like a spoiled little piggy.

So I guess when you’re on vacation, just do whatever man. Don’t ruin your time because you’re afraid to indulge. I was with my inlaws so drinking was technically a defence mechanism, not a indulgent act.  But still. Yolo bitches. If you put on weight in a short amount of time, odds are you’ll lose it in a short amount of time. 

Tonight I made a massive delicious salad and bbq’d some chicken breasts and it was damn delicious!  It was no chimichanga.. But I’m back on track and on my way to my goal weight once again. No regrets.  Do it for the cheese. Do it for the wine! 





Vacation >  diet

FACT. 

Leave a Reply

